Meet the Team

Executive leadership

Matt O’Leary
Executive Chairman

Matt O’Leary is Executive Chairman of Motiv Power Systems.  Matt has been a member of the Motiv Board of Directors since November, 2016, and was elected Chairman of the Board in July, 2018.

Prior to that, Matt had worked at Ford Motor Company for over 38 years.  He has extensive global experience in product development, purchasing and finance.

Matt retired as the Vehicle Line Director, North America Trucks, SUVs and Commercial Vehicles at the end of 2015.  Prior to that he was the Product Development Director for Ford South America Operations and led the development of the all-new EcoSport and Ka global vehicles.  Matt also served as the Director of Corporate Strategy, establishing a strategy process and plan for profitable growth in Asia. Prior to that he served as Chief Engineer, F150/Expedition/Navigator and was responsible for the highly successful, all-new 2009 F150, which won numerous awards including Motor Trend Truck of the Year, North American Truck of the Year, Truck of Texas, JD Power Initial Quality, and Consumer Reports Recommended Buy.   

Matt earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from University of Michigan – Dearborn in 1977, and a Master of Science in Management from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1995.


Scott Griffith

Scott Griffith is CEO and board member of Motiv, where he brings 30 years experience of founding, leading, scaling and advising leading technology-based companies that have often been market disruptors operating at the intersection of technology and mobility.

Prior to joining Motiv, Griffith served as CEO of Ford Motor Company’s Autonomous Vehicles and Mobility Businesses, where he oversaw the development of Level 4 autonomous vehicles as well as overseeing Ford’s portfolio of strategic investments in future mobility businesses. 

As CEO of Zipcar for over 10-years, he led the nascent car sharing company from its seed stage. During his tenure at Zipcar, Scott has also been credited with shepherding the development and popularity of the entire car sharing category as he turned a small niche idea into a profitable, mainstream form of urban transportation and lifestyle brand. This led to Zipcar being referred to as “The Best New Idea in Business,” in a cover story by Fortune Magazine. During his extended tenure, Griffith raised several rounds of venture capital from top-tier investment firms, grew the business organically and through acquisitions in the US and Europe and eventually took the company public in one of the strongest IPOs of the year.

Scott also serves on the board of EVgo {NASDAQ: EVGO}, a pioneer in the development of large-scale fast-charging networks for electric vehicles. His EVgo board role puts him at the forefront of an industry that is critical to the success of both passenger and commercial vehicle electrification.

Scott earned a Bachelor of Science in Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.


Jim Castelaz
Founder, Chief Technology
and Revenue Officer

Jim is a leading electric vehicle entrepreneur, trained as an electrical engineer with expertise in power and embedded systems. As founder, Chief Technology and Revenue Officer, Jim champions Motiv’s vision to Free Fleets from Fossil Fuels – a vision that summarizes his professional and personal passion.

He has led Motiv from an idea in his living room to becoming the US market leader in common-platform electric truck and bus chassis. Having raised over $70M for Motiv to date, Jim’s experience includes capital formation, government grants, developing IP portfolios and building a world-class team aligned around a shared purpose.

Jim holds an MSEE from Stanford University and BS in Engineering and Economics from Harvey Mudd College.


Prasad Ramakrishnan
Chief Operating Officer

Prasad Ramakrishnan is Motiv’s Chief Operating Officer focusing on operational excellence and ensuring engineering, manufacturing, and quality processes provide customer-focused, robust, reliable, and profitable products at high-volume.

Prasad is a global leader and turnaround specialist with expertise across functions in renewable energy, mobility, power and fashion consumer product industries.  During his career, he held global or regional operational leadership roles in Ford, Triumph International, Alstom and General Electric while living and working in four continents. He is passionate about consistently and inclusively developing leaders and teams, and combining social and economic impact. He teaches and has developed executive education programs at the Swiss Federal Tech University (ETH) in Zurich and Babson College in Boston.

Prasad holds bachelor’s degrees in Physics & Electrical Engineering, master’s degrees in Electrical Engineering & Personnel Administration, and is a Saïd Business School alumnus of the Oxford Advanced Management and Leadership Programme.


Kristen Magnuson
Chief Financial Officer

Kristen Magnuson serves at Motiv’s Chief Financial Officer where she leads all aspects of financial operations and capital formation efforts.

She brings over 30 years of expertise in accelerating growth and maximizing profitability in technology-focused companies through multiple stages of growth, planning, capital markets, debt and equity financing, mergers and acquisitions, and diverse functional areas across business operations. Kristen has held positions of increasing responsibility, most recently serving as the CFO at Achilles Technology Solutions, Webtrends and JDA Software Group, where she played an instrumental role in exponential revenue growth from $94M to $400M. Prior she was the VP of Financial Planning, Analysis and Retail Systems at Michael’s Stores, which grew from $250M to over a $1B in revenue during her tenure. Kristen has helped raise nearly $1B through capital market transactions during her career and lead M&A efforts in nearly 50 successful acquisitions.

Kristen holds a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting from the University of Washington.


Management team

Juliet Eichberg Director of Human Resources and Facilities

Anand Srinivasan Director of Vehicle Systems Engineering

Ryan Hurst Treasurer

Zuhaib Hussain Controller

Tony Luna Director of Support

Ernie Marquez Director of Supply Chain

Mike Staran Director of Corporate Accounts

Selden Swain SVP, Manufacturing / Supply Chain & Engineering


Alan Henricks Board Member

Jun Hong Heng Board Member

Paul Savoie Board Member